

# **Dakota County**

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: DC-1732 Version: 1

Type: Consent Action Status: Passed

File created: 12/18/2022 In control: Board of Commissioners

 On agenda:
 1/3/2023

 Final action:
 1/3/2023

 Enactment date:
 1/3/2023

 Enactment #:
 23-015

Title: Appointments To Planning Commission

**Sponsors:** Office Of The County Manager

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/3/2023	1	Board of Commissioners	approved	Pass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the County Manager

**FILE TYPE:** Consent Action

#### TITLE

## **Appointments To Planning Commission**

## **PURPOSE/ACTION REQUESTED**

Appoint/reappoint individuals to expiring terms on the Planning Commission. All terms are expiring.

## SUMMARY

The Planning Commission reviews plans and proposals and makes policy recommendations to the County Board in the following areas; transportation, transit, parks, trails and greenways, land conservation, water resources, and environmental management. The Planning Commission may review capital projects or be asked by the County Board to address emerging issues that impact the physical or natural infrastructure of Dakota County. In addition, the Planning Commission considers conditional use permits in the shoreland and floodplain areas of Dakota County.

Membership: 14 members; 2 citizens/district

Meetings: Monthly or as necessary

Location: Western Service Center, Apple Valley

Term: 1 year Term Limit: None

The 2022 membership as appointed by the County Board is as follows:

District	First	Last	Expiration	Term
1	Dennis	Peine	1/3/23	2

File #: DC-1732, Version: 1				
1	Jerry	Rich	1/3/23	4
2	John	Ross	1/3/23	1
2	Lori	Hansen	1/3/23	9
3	Jill	Smith	1/3/23	10
3	Greg	Oxley	1/3/23	9
4	Amy	Hunting	1/3/23	7
4	Barry	Graham	1/3/23	10
5	Anna	Boroff	1/3/23	1
5	VACANT		1/3/23	0
6	Nate	Reitz	1/3/23	20
6	James	Guttmann	1/3/23	6
7	Anthony	Nelson	1/3/23	15
7	Donald	Post	1/3/23	5

## RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends individuals be appointed/reappointed to any expiring or vacant terms. Any application(s) or interest for reappointment were distributed to the Board for review. Appointments to vacant terms can be filled at any time throughout the year.

## **EXPLANATION OF FISCAL/FTE IMPACTS**

$\boxtimes$	None	☐ Current budget	☐ Other	
	Amendment F	Requested	☐ New FTE(s) requested	b

## RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Dakota County Board of Commissioners hereby appoints/reappoints the following individuals to the Planning Commission for one-year terms ending January 2, 2024:

District 1, Dennis Peine

District 1, Jerry Rich

District 2, Lori Hansen

District 2, Amy Hunting

District 3, Jill Smith

District 4, Barry Graham

District 6, Nate Reitz

District 6, James Guttmann

District 7, Anthony Nelson

District 7, Kelly Kausel

## PREVIOUS BOARD ACTION

None.

#### **ATTACHMENTS**

Attachment: Application(s) (distributed to Board only)

## **BOARD GOALS**

☐ A Great Place to Live	☐ A Healthy Environment
☐ A Successful Place for Business and Jobs	☑ Excellence in Public Service

#### PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT LEVEL

File #: DC-1732, Version: 1					
☐ Inform and Listen	☐ Discuss	☐ Involve	⊠ N/A		
0011-10-					

## **CONTACT**

Department Head: Matt Smith

Author: Jeni Reynolds