

Legislation Text

File #: DC-1747, Version: 1

DEPARTMENT: Office of the County Manager

FILE TYPE: Consent Action

TITLE Appointment Of County Board Members To Boards/Committees For 2023

PURPOSE/ACTION REQUESTED

- Appoint County Board members to interagency boards/committees/commissions
- Appoint County Board members as liaison commissioner to the Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board
- Appoint County Board members to in-County boards/committees

SUMMARY

County Board members are appointed annually to various interagency boards, as well as in-County boards/committees. A County Board member is also appointed annually as liaison commissioner to the Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board.

The attachment lists the annual commissioner appointments. Please note:

County Board members also serve on other interagency groups for which they individually applied or were appointed by other entities, such as the National Association of Counties. These are not included in the annual appointments.

District 2, 4, 5 and 6 appointments to the Dakota County Community Development Agency is listed in a separate clause in the proposed resolution.

RECOMMENDATION

The Chair recommends appointments for 2023.

EXPLANATION OF FISCAL/FTE IMPACTS

☑ None
□ Current budget
□ Amendment Requested

OtherNew FTE(s) requested

RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Dakota County Board of Commissioners hereby appoints, as recommended by the County Board Chair, County Board members to serve on interagency boards, in-County boards, and as liaison Commissioners for 2023, as follows:

Board Committees of the Whole -

File #: DC-1747, Version: 1

<u>General Government and Policy Committee</u>: All Commissioners

Atkins (Chair)

Community Services Committee:

All Commissioners Halverson (Chair)

Physical Development Committee:

All Commissioners Holberg (Chair)

Metropolitan Inter-Agency Appointments -

Association of MN Counties:

Board of Directors Member - Atkins, Workman (Alternate) District X - Atkins, Workman (Alternate) General Government Policy Committee - Hamann-Roland Environment & Natural Resources Policy Committee - Workman and Atkins Health & Human Services Policy Committee - Halverson Public Safety Policy Committee - Droste Transportation & Infrastructure Policy Committee - Holberg and Slavik

Cannon River One Watershed One Plan:

Slavik, Hamann-Roland (Alternate)

Dakota Communications Center Board of Directors:

Slavik Holberg (Alternate)

Dakota Broadband Board:

Workman Atkins (Alternate)

Facility Operations Advisory Committee for Thompson Park Centers:

Atkins Halverson

<u>Greater MSP</u> (appointed by Dakota County Community Development Agency)

<u>Greater Metropolitan Workforce Council:</u> Hamann-Roland

I-35W Solutions Alliance Board: Workman (Chair) Holberg (Alternate)

Metropolitan Emergency Services Board (MESB): Atkins

Hamann-Roland Droste (Alternate)

MESB Executive Committee:

Atkins Hamann-Roland (Alternate)

Metropolitan Library Service Agency Board (MELSA): Halverson

<u>Metropolitan Mosquito Control District (MMCD):</u> Workman Hamann-Roland Halverson

MMCD Executive Committee: Workman

Minnesota Inter-County Association Board (MICA): Halverson Droste

- Regional Solid Waste Hauler Licensing Board: Workman
- <u>State Community Health Services Advisory Committee</u>: Atkins

<u>Suburban County Work Group on Regional Issues</u>: Workman Holberg Atkins

<u>Transportation Advisory Board-Metropolitan Council</u>: Holberg Droste (Alternate)

<u>Vermillion River Watershed Joint Powers Board</u>: Slavik Hamann-Roland Droste (Alternate)

In-County Appointments -

Dakota County Board/Court Policy Committee: Holberg Atkins

Dakota County Law Library Board:

File #: DC-1747, Version: 1

Holberg

Dakota County Legislative Advisory Workgroup (LAW) Lead: Atkins

Dakota County Legislative Advisory Workgroup (LAW) Liaisons: Slavik Halverson

Dakota County Regional Railroad Authority:

All Commissioners Hamann-Roland (Chair) Atkins (Vice-Chair) Halverson (Secretary)

Liaison Commissioner Appointments -

Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board:

Hamann-Roland

; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Dakota County Board of Commissioners hereby appoints the following individuals to the Community Development Agency Board for a three-year term ending January, 2026:

District 4, William Droste District 5, Liz Workman District 6, Mary Liz Holberg ; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Dakota County Board of Commissioners hereby appoints the following individual to the Community Development Agency Board for a remaining three-year term ending January, 2025:

District 2, Joe Atkins

PREVIOUS BOARD ACTION

None.

ATTACHMENTS Attachment: DRAFT Appointments List

BOARD GOALS

A Great Place to LiveA Successful Place for Business and Jobs

PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT LEVEL

A Healthy Environment

☑ Excellence in Public Service

File #: DC-1747, Version: 1			
□ Inform and Listen	□ Discuss	□ Involve	⊠ N/A
CONTACT Department Head: Matt Smith Author: Jeni Reynolds			